Life & Liberty




* * * July 26: Saints Joachim and Anne - Parents of The Blessed Virgin Mary and Grandparents of Our Lord Jesus Christ * * * August 3: First Friday of the Month Devotion to the Sacred Heart of Jesus * * * August 4: First Saturday of the Month Devotion to the Blessed Virgin Mary * * * August 6: The Transfiguration of the Lord * * * August 9: Saint Teresa Benedicta of the Cross * * * August 11: Saint Clare * * * August 14: Saint Maximilian Kolbe * * * August 15: The Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary * * * August 22: Queenship of the Blessed Virgin Mary * * * August 27: Saint Monica * * * August 28: Saint Augustine * * * August 29: The Passion of Saint John the Baptist * * *

Saturday, March 28, 2015

March 27, 2015: Notes from Lenten Bible Study by Father Antonio O. Moreno

Women of the Gospel: 

Friends and disciples

Sponsored by The Legion of Mary

Opening Prayer:  St. Luke 1: 46-55

Topic:  Passion of Christ/ Sorrowful Mother

Introduction:  Meditation on the Seven Sorrows of Mary the Mother of God promotes union with the suffering of her Son Jesus Christ.  By uniting ourselves with both the Passion of Christ and His Holy Mother, we enter into the Divine Mercy of Jesus’ heart.  By honoring Mary’s sorrows we honor Jesus greatly.  Her Sorrows accompany us to the Passion and Resurrection of her Son our Savior Jesus Christ.

The Seven “Dolores” are taken from Scripture events.  Pope Pius VII in 1815 approved the Devotion of the Seven Sorrows of the Blessed Virgin Mary. The feast of the Seven Dolores is traditionally either the Friday of Passion Week, Which is the Friday before Good Friday, or more generally on September 15, the official date of the feast.  On September 15, the day following the ancient feast of the Holy Cross, the Church commemorates the compassion of Mary, but it is fitting during the year, especially during Lent, to honor the Sorrows of Mary.

The Sorrowful Mysteries

1.      The Presentation in the Temple (Lk. 2: 34-35)

2.     The Flight into Egypt (Matt. 2: 13-14)

3.     Loss of Jesus for three days (Lk. 2: 43-45)

4.     The Way to Calvary (Lk. 23: 27)

5.     The Crucifixion (Jn. 19: 18-27)

6.     The Descent from the Cross (Mk. 15:43-46)

7.     The Burial of Jesus (Jn. 19: 41-42)